Starmer unveils first cabinet after UK Labour’s historic election triumph

Newly-elected UK Prime Minister, Keir Starmer, announced his first cabinet appointments on Friday.

This comes after his centre-left Labour Party’s sweeping general election victory, ending 14 years of Conservative rule.

Starmer, the first Labour PM since Gordon Brown in 2010, was invited by King Charles III to form a government during a meeting at Buckingham Palace on Friday.

See the list of the new cabinet members below:

Angela Rayner – Deputy Prime Minister
Rachel Reeves – Chancellor
David Lammy – Foreign Secretary
Yvette Cooper – Home Secretary
Pat McFadden– Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster
Shabana Mahmood – Justice Secretary
Wes Streeting – Health Secretary
Bridget Phillipson – Education Secretary
Ed Miliband – Energy Secretary
Peter Kyle – Science, Innovation and Technology Secretary
Louise Haigh – Transport Secretary
Liz Kendall – Work and Pensions Secretary
Jonathan Reynolds – Business and Trade Secretary
John Healey – Defence Secretary
Steve Reed – Environment Secretary
Lisa Nandy – Culture, Media and Sport Secretary
Hilary Benn – Northern Ireland Secretary
Ian Murray – Scotland Secretary
Jo Stevens – Wales Secretary

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.