Tinubu renames airports after Buhari, Usman Dan Fodio, Awolowo, others

President Bola Tinubu has recently announced the renaming of several federal airports in Nigeria in honor of prominent individuals.

The Federal Ministry of Aviation issued a memo this month confirming the name changes.

The memo, signed by Mrs. Joke Olatunji on behalf of the Director of Airport Operations, stated that the renaming of the airports is part of ongoing reforms in the aviation sector.

According to the statement, the Maiduguri Airport has been renamed after the immediate past President Muhammadu Buhari. The Port Harcourt Airport now bears the name of the late nationalist Obafemi Awolowo, and the Nasarawa Airport is dedicated to the late founder of the Sokoto Caliphate, Usman Dan Fodio.

Additionally, the Benin Airport has been renamed in honor of the late Oba of Benin, Oba Akenzua II.

The Ebonyi Airport is now named after the late Senate President Chuba Okadigbo, and the Ibadan Airport is dedicated to the late Premier of the old Western Region, Ladoke Akintola.

These name changes aim to pay tribute to the significant contributions and legacies of these esteemed individuals.

Below is the full list:

  1. Akure Airport – Olumuyiwa Bernard Aliu
  2. Benin Airport – Oba Akenzua II
  3. Dutse Airport – Muhammad Nuhu Sanusi
  4. Ebonyi Airport – Chuba Wilberforce Okadigbo
  5. Gombe Airport – Brigadier Zakari Maimalari
  1. Ibadan Airport – Samuel Ladoke Akintola
  2. Ilorin Airport – Gen. Tunde Idiagbon
  3. Kaduna Airport – Hassan Usman Katsina
  4. Maiduguri Airport – Gen. Mumammadu Buhari
  5. Makurdi Airport – Joseph Sarwuan Tarka
  6. Minna Airpor – Mallam Abubakar Imam
  7. Nassarawa Airport – Sheikh Usman Dan Fodio
  8. Osubi Airport – Alfred Diete Spiff
  9. Port Harcourt Airport – Obafemi Jeremiah Awolowo
  10. Yola Airport – Lamido Aliyu Mustapha

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.