CJN Ariwoola to swear in daughter-in-law, 11 others as judges of FCT High Court

Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, is set to administer the oath of office to twelve new judges of the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) on Wednesday, July 10, 2024.

The ceremony will be held at the Main Courtroom of the Supreme Court, starting at 10am.

Among the newly appointed judges is Ariwoola Oluwakemi Victoria from Oyo State, who is said to be the daughter-in-law of the Chief Justice.

This information was disclosed in a statement by Dr. Festus Akande, the Director of Press and Information at the Supreme Court, as reported by Channels Television.

The full list of judges scheduled to be sworn in includes:

  1. Ariwoola Oluwakemi Victoria (Oyo State)
  2. Ademuyiwa Olakunle Oyeyipo (Kwara State)
  3. Bamodu Odunayo Olutomi (Lagos State)
  4. Iheabunike Anumaenwe Godwin (Imo State)
  5. Odo Celestine Obinna (Enugu State)
  6. Hauwa Lawal Gummi (Zamfara State)
  7. Sarah Benjamin Inesu Avoh (Bayelsa State)
  8. Maryam Iye Yusuf (Kogi State)
  9. Buetnaan Mandy Bassi (Plateau State)
  10. Lesley Nkesi Belema Wike (Rivers State)
  11. Ibrahim Tanko Munirat (Bauchi State)
  12. Abdulrahman Usman (Taraba State)

This swearing-in ceremony follows the recommendation of these judicial officers by the National Judicial Council (NJC) on May 17, 2024.

The NJC’s recommendation, made during its 105th plenary meeting, aimed to fill vacancies in federal and state courts across Nigeria.

The appointment of these judges reflects ongoing efforts to strengthen the judiciary and ensure efficient dispensation of justice in the country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.